What did you learn to ride on?

Woodinville...?? Just moved from Bothell 6 years ago.

A home made mini bike. Rigid frame with a 5 hp Briggs & Stratton pull start with centrifugal clutch and paddle brake on rear wheel.
Wore out two clutches on that thing when I was 10.

Join us for Newstoc in June.
T

Lambretta scooter...late sixties:cool:

P.S. Also not long after the Lambretta, i started riding a Russian Ural COSSACK 650. A friend bought the bike brand new in the crate, around 1970/71 we both assembled it ,the hand book was in Russian. He worked away a lot, so i took over the reins for a while.
Cost was $650 for 650cc. Had a 6v electrics, which we changed over to 12v some months later. It had separate saddle seats, the passenger seat was higher than the front and had a looped grab
rail on front of the seat and they were comfortable.
Also had a heal/toe gearshift, not sure if it was 4 or 5 gears. Below and behind my leg calf was a small gearshift lever, and i think that was meant to be used if a sidecar was fitted.
I am pretty sure it had an advance/retard lever on the handlebar, to kick the bike over. It also had massive mudguards, which did a great job of keeping the water off.
Easy to work on, had points ignition, able to alter timing to suit ,valve clearance adjustments were a piece of cake. A lot easier bike with the spanners than some of todays rockets.

I ended up getting a Yamy 650 XS1 ( drum brakes). Some months later we took of travelling around the lower half of Aust. Both bikes performed well.
phantom :bk13:

Last edited: