Removed linked brakes?

JBS

I have been riding since 1969. In this time I have put over 136000 miles on my 1979 Triumph Bonneville and over 250000 on all the triumphs I have owned. Also countless miles on other brands motor cycles.

I have always completed all the maintenance and repair on my bikes. Even after crashing a few.

I picked up a 2005 ST1300 Honda from a friend that had some health issues and needed to down size his inventory. He rode this bike like he was 20 years old and stolen it. (He is 75 years old.)

His favorite thing to do was to allow some unsuspecting bullet bike riders to catch him and pass. This was on the twistiest roads you can find. Then jump on their tale all the way down the canyon. Until they give up and let him crews by. There has been more than one time that that black wing has been grinding on the ground as he cut around a corner.

There are more than a few in our riding group that are over 65 that will go just as fast. Most come from a racing back ground.

I have ridden the bike for a few hundred miles. Lately I have noticed that the rear brake is dragging. The owner told me he had just replaced the pads earlier in the year. The rear disk does get hot, I haven’t noticed the red hot disk that some have seen. After reading some posts it looks like rebuilding the caliper is what will fix the problem..

Some questions that I have are…

Has anyone ever tried to remove the linked system? Because this seems to be part of the issue.

I talked to a Honda mechanic that had success with similar Honda braking systems on other models.

If so does it affect the antilock brakes? Never had them haven’t ever needed them.

Best place to get rebuild kits?

Any other information or point me in the correct direction would be appreciated.

Reactions: ATA
Welcome to the forum and congrats on the :dr13: