Can you help to fix St1100 screen

Bike
ST1100
As a newbie I hope that I am in the right forum, if not please guide me to the one that I need.
I have only had my 1991, ST1100 for a couple of months, and have not attempted any repairs...yet.
My problem is that a bolt has come out of the windscreen, (as you sit on the bike it is on the left side, top bolt), and it would seem that the ?nut? that I suppose should be on the inside to receive the bolt, is not in place. Looking at the plastic it seems like a BIG job to get behind it to place a bolt or whatever so that I can put in a new bolt. In the meantime the place where the bolt should go is allowing the screen to flap in the wind.
The question is do I have to strip half the plastic off, or can one of you guys suggest a quick fix?
Thanks in advance for any help that you can give me.
:confused:

BILL - Sounds like a wellnut has gone missing if it is one of the five pan headed screws around the lower edge of the windshield. In a pinch, I've used a small grommet of the proper size and superglued the correct nut into the center. The other option would be to order some wellnuts from somebody like www.Servicehonda.com. I believe the part number for the wellnuts is - 90111-KW3-003

Bill....in some circles those are called "well nuts", I don't have a picture of them but several hardware stores and some auto part houses will have them as well. They are press-fit rubber with a upper lip that keeps them from falling all the way through the hole with a female threaded insert that your windscreen SCREW goes into. I can't remember what size it is right off....prolly 8mm or so.
Some one here has that spec, I just don't have access to it right now cause I'm at work, but they are not hard to find. Remove the windscreen and you can pry one of those out to get a size. And if one has let go I'd suggest ya best spend the extra cash and replace them all.
Cheers-n-ride safe
Ed